“On Reading”

There is a rare pleasure in

reading a good book,

legs stretched out to catch

the last afternoon rays,

languidly on the lawn –

taking a dip in serenity

to form fateful connections

and other worlds

in the minds of strangers,

narrated by you.

 

It makes me sad

to hear the clock chime,

knowing this afternoon

will never be again,

but I remember reading

that the sun does not set,

it is the earth which

rises into night,

carrier of our soaring feelings

and broken hearts alike.

 

An orange monarch floats by,

ruler of her airy kingdom,

and my thoughts fly alongside

forgetting reading, writing,

sunsets, satisfaction.

 

for a moment i am

 

Then the butterfly is gone and

I stretch to catch the light again,

gazing at my book,

continuing to read our world.

2 thoughts on ““On Reading”

  1. “…the sun does not set,

    it is the earth which

    rises into night…”
    That was powerful. That can mean hope is always round the corner (the sun does not set). It can also mean that we look at things the wrong way, we hold the wrong people/ideas/situations accountable for events. That may not be what you meant, but that’s how I’d like to look at it, and I wanted to tell you how I interpreted it.
    I LOVE IT!

  2. Hi there – I love all the comments you’re making! So, this is a quote from a South African writer called Ian McCallum, which you can find in his book ‘Ecological Intelligence’. It’s a winner. I guess if I had to say, I mean it in the sense that this afternoon will, in fact, be again, simply in a different form to what we might expect (as a result of what I have read, and therefore what I now know). However, I think the whole point of writing, and poetry in particular, is to craft words capable of finding their own meanings in each reader’s mind, and I love the meanings you have found here, so thank you.

Leave a Reply

