“On Ambition”

‘Ambition is like a frog sitting on a venus flytrap. The flytrap can bite and bite, but achieve nothing. Then some other stuff could happen and that would be like ambition’ — Jack Handy

 

I doubt myself more,

perhaps a symptom of growing up,

realising how hard it is

to part the bloodred sea

of people competing

for dwindling dreams.

 

If I can right

just one

perfectly placed,

absolutely write

word,

that will be enough.

 

Not everything I want,

but enough.

Somewhere between

ambition

and that one word

I’ll plant my staff, seeking satisfaction.

Leave a Reply

