“Shout Back”

I stumbled over inspiration

on a blog called hotdogstandpoetry,

shouting through the

deafening silence of a million voices

chattering life away.

 

Like me, she thinks that

no-one gives a damn,

no-one sees,

but I do.

I may not hear her words,

but I react to the scream:

 

A primal knee-jerk

generated by similarity

across age, gender, continents.

I may not hear her words,

but I sympathise with her voice,

how human her silence sounds.

 

I think this is the best

we can hope for;

not to change the world,

but to empathise with another,

live their world for a moment and

lift their head for them, quietly smiling.

 

http://hotdogstandpoetry.wordpress.com/2014/03/09/shout/

Leave a Reply

